GÉANT Infoshare - Monitoring WiFi network performance with WiFiMon

(Timezone - Europe/Paris)
Pavle Vuletić (UoB/AMRES), Kurt Baumann (SWITCH)

WiFiMon, a WiFi network monitoring and performance verification system, is a new GEANT service. It is capable of detecting performance issues, visualising the workload of the network, and providing technical information about the WiFi network (e.g. signal strength, link quality, bit rate, etc.). WiFiMon leverages well-known performance verification tools like Akamai Boomerang and Speedtest/Libretest and in addition uses data from the WiFi physical layer in order to gather a comprehensive set of WiFi network performance metrics. It combines crowdsourced measurements and measurement data obtained from small form hardware probes.

The GN4-3 project is organising an Infoshare on WiFiMon. This infoshare will focus on three aspects of WiFiMon:

  • The features and benefits WiFiMon offers and its typical usage scenarios,    

  • A demonstration of WiFiMon in use and the measurement results it provides,    

  • Technical requirements as well as installation and configuration methodology.

All those interested in WiFiMon or the topic of WiFi network monitoring, technical and non-technical, are welcome to join. Service experts will be present to answer any questions you may have. Join the Infoshare on November 5th, 13:00 CEST, in our ZOOM room (link and the password will be shared with the registered attendees before the Infoshare).

WiFiMon infoshare presentations (please login using your federated credentials):

  • Adam Sosnowski
  • Ajay Makan
  • Alan Lewis
  • Alejandro Lara
  • Alex Moura
  • Anders Nilsson
  • Andiy Neuherz
  • Antoine Delvaux
  • Bastian Hellbert
  • Bojan Jakovljevic
  • Carlo Terminiello
  • Ceren Taskin
  • Christian Rohrer
  • Dewalt Uys
  • Dirk Osstyn
  • Dorothy Stidman
  • Edward Wincott
  • Effah Amponsah
  • Elif Ebru INAL
  • Florian Draisma
  • George Konnis
  • Glenn Wearen
  • Harald Prettner
  • Hasan Kilic
  • Husnu Demir
  • Indrek Rokk
  • Iris Govedic
  • Ivan Garnizov
  • Ivana Golub
  • Jogi Hofmüller
  • Jose Manuel Macias
  • João Silva
  • Julian Gambin
  • Jure Knez
  • Klaas Wierenga
  • Kostas Stamos
  • Kristofer Hallin
  • Kurt Baumann
  • Lars Fischer
  • Leobino Sampaio
  • Marco Coelho
  • Marina Adomeit
  • Mark Day
  • Mark O'Leary
  • Mehmel Ali Oksuz
  • Mehmet Burak Uysal
  • Melissa massengill
  • Mikael Ottosson
  • Nathalie McKenzie
  • Nese Kaptan Koc
  • Nikolay Alikin
  • Nikos Kostopoulos
  • Oussama Mouhhaje
  • Pavle Vuletic
  • Pedro Simões
  • Peter Blee
  • Peter Heinzmann
  • Rafal Lawrukiewicz
  • Richard Lui
  • Robert Tadevosyan
  • Seeiso Alfredo
  • Sokol Gjeçi
  • Stefan Winter
  • Suleyman Duztaban
  • Tim Chown
  • Valeriu Vraciu
  • Veronique lefebure
  • Vidar Stokke
  • Vincent DUCRET
  • Vincenzo Capone
  • Vlado Pribolšan
  • Wenche Backman-Kamila
  • Yehavi bourvine
  • Zurab Bukhnikashvili